The Liberty and Justice Series




Series Liberty and Justice
Publisher Equality Press
Dimensions 7.5x9.25 inches
Age Range 9-12 years
Author Jason Nord

The Liberty and Justice Series

Purchase the first two books in the Liberty and Justice series as a single package and receive them at a discounted price. With each purchase you'll receive one copy each of The Silent Sentinels and To Dare to Tell the Truth: The Story of Daniel Ellsberg.

The Silent Sentinels

The Silent Sentinels tells the story of the National Woman’s Party, a group of suffragists that began an ongoing protest outside of the gates of the White House back in 1917.  Refusing to leave until the President of the United States agreed to support the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment, thereby granting women the right to vote, these women endured torrential rains, freezing temperatures, and repeated attacks by mobs of angry men. When the government began arresting the suffragists en masse – forcing them into filthy cells and feeding them rotten food – the women went on hunger strike, refusing to eat until the charges against them were dropped. Their courage and determination in the face of horrendous government repression gained national attention and helped to change the nation forever.

To Dare to Tell the Truth

To Dare to Tell the Truth follows the life of Daniel Ellsberg, a government analyst who, when confronted by the growing horrors and immorality of the Vietnam conflict, decides to risk his own freedom to bring the truth to the American people. From the jungles of Vietnam, where Dan witnesses first-hand the brutality of modern warfare, to the streets of the United States, where the antiwar movement is challenging the authority of the American government, the story follows Dan on his personal journey from being a top secret military analyst to being a fervent anti-war activist. When Dan decides to help end the war by publishing 7,000 pages of top secret documents, his actions trigger one of the largest FBI manhunts in American history while forcing the American people to reconsider everything they thought was true about their government.